Abbazia di Santa Maria dell’Olearia

Abbazia di Santa Maria dell’Olearia

$0 per person

The Abbey of S. Maria de Olearia stands on a complex of three small superimposed churches which have different styles of frescoes. It was founded as a hermitage between 973 AD and 987 AD and was named “de Olearia” due to the luxuriant olive trees surrounding it. The last abbot died in 1509 and the abbey was abandoned the same year. The walls of the monumental part, which is still visible, today have frescoes attributed to Leone Amalfitano, a Benedictine monk who lived during the 11th century. There are also fascinating catacombs with paintings dating to between the 7th and 8th centuries which are of great art historical interest.

  • City
    Maiori (Salerno)
  • Address
    Strada Statale Amalfitana, 43
  • Timetables
    Open from Easter week to the end of July. Wednesdays 2:30pm-6:30 pm, Saturdays and Sundays 9:00am-1:00pm
  • Closing day
    Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays
  • Contacts
    Tel. +39 089 814209
  • Website
  • Price without Artecard
    Free entry